Traveling Light

One of my goals is to start traveling light. Yes, even with my toddler (Gah! I can’t believe he’s almost 2😭) in tow, I want our family to be less weighed down by stuff. Not because our backs are breaking (they are though!), but for the mental weight it also takes off of travel. 

Now, I know in my baby packing post I say less is not anymore, but I’m going to try and change that! With an infant, I am not so sure it’s possible. But an older baby or toddler, I think it is! 

I managed to pack our family of 3 a weeks worth of clothes for Disney World and the beach into our carry on size suitcase! We will have our dock a tot and diapers in another bag. So, we aren’t going with just a carry on suitcase, but this is a huge change from our usual two small suitcases or one large suitcase plus the dock a tot bag. 

I’ve been reading more and more about traveling with less and doing more, so I decided that’s our new motto.

I realized in Paris we really didn’t need half the clothes we packed, and that trip was over 2 weeks long. Obviously, having a washing machine made that possible, but going to a laundry mat would work too. It’s also amazing how mixing and matching pieces can make so many different outfits. In Paris, I ended up wearing the same two sweaters over with different bottoms and even over a dress. And my black leather boots were really the only shoes I needed. Baby supplies are hard to cut back on, but I think with adult packing downsizing is definitely possible! 

This is only the beginning of our traveling light journey, so that’s really all I have for now. Hopefully, I will have more to report in the future! 

Happy travels!

7 thoughts on “Traveling Light

  1. Omg! Venice was amazingly easy with a toddler, and after snotty people in Paris, Italy was a much nicer way to end the trip!

    Like

    1. Did you encounter a lot of snobbery in Paris?? We didn’t have much of an issue with that (but we are used to Chicago attitudes 😂) while there. Christmas time tends to make people extra cheery too! I really want to plan an Italy trip for when this baby is 6 months to 18 months. I have good friends in Veneto:) It is one of my favorite regions in Italy!

      Like

      1. Goodness yes! But I assume spring/summer in Paris brings that out a bit. And people don’t have that attitude in the south, so we aren’t used to it. How are the people in y’alls new city?

        How was the trip to Disney?! Can’t wait to see posts!

        Like

      2. Hot! Lol. We aren’t used to that heat and humidity! We had fun though. We only did Magic Kingdom and Epcot. We had hopper tickets, but MK had so much for Bash and the lines were long bc of the summer crowd. I think we would be better suited for a trip in January when it’s “cold”.

        I like to think Hoosiers are friendly. But I am one, so I might be biased😂

        Like

  2. That’s a huge bummer! But Disney will still be a blast! So excited to see photos! We went a couple weeks ago and Gia loved seeing the princesses!

    Like

  3. Can’t wait to hear about the beach and Disney! (And Savannah, obvs).

    I’m impressed y’all got stuff for 3 people in 1 carry on!

    Like

    1. No more Savannah:( because my doctor wouldn’t approve driving, so we are flying in out of Orlando now. I impressed myself! I even over packed the clothes for Bash, but I’m always nervous of leaking diapers and big spills.

      Like

Leave a comment